Left handed Filofax!

Standard

I was recently ‘Reader under the Spotlight’ over on the Philofaxy website.  Here is the link to the post if you want to take a read! http://philofaxy.blogspot.com/2010/08/reader-under-spot-light-sharon.html

One of the things I said was that I would like a Left Handed Filofax!  At the time I thought great idea, but now I need to back this in my head idea,up with actual on the paper (or blog) ideas and put it out there!  So here goes!

This is based on the A5 Domino as this one I am currently using on a regular basis for my crafts and the one I think it works best with, as it has a notepad in the back inside cover.

Some people have said if you wanted to use this Filofax left handed just turn it upside down and you can!  Totally agree, however if are even mildly OCD this could end up annoying the pants off of you, I know it would me, and here is why :-

This is the current inside back over, and if I turned it upside down, which it can be down as you can slightly see the slit at the bottom of the pad to do this.  However I then found if I did this that the pen loops would then need to be raised as they are now in the way when I write!  Oh and one other thing, on the back cover at the bottom is ‘FILOFAX’ embossed if I turned my Filofax upside down this of course would also be upside down and I just could not cope with that!

All the inserts work fine and I could just turn them around!  But then we get to the front cover!  Different story!

Normal way up!

Turned upside down!  Spot the obvious issue?  All the card slots need to be turned upwards! And the Filofax details in the front all need to be turned as well!

In short, yes an A5 Domino can be used as a Left Handed Filofax if you can live with the things I have pointed out here!  I can’t!  It would do my head in if everything was upside down etc!

However, this I have realised really only applies to Filofax’s that have the back notepad in them!  Why would I want to turn my Personal Domino into a left handed Filofax?  Well I wouldn’t as there is no gain, because there is no back note pad!

However my Pocket Urban, has a back notepad and that would be a consideration!

I hope I have made myself clear, as some ideas are sometimes best left (pardon the pun) in the head in which they arose, and never coming out, and maybe this was one of them! LOL!

Oh one last thing.  This may also apply to right handed people, I find with the current setup of the Filofax when making notes, etc I tend to always write on the left page (which is rather lumpy due to card slots!), so my notes section for instance looks empty, but really it isn’t it is because I have started at the back and working forwards, as easier to write and if the notepad were in the front, would be more comfortable as well!  I think that may be where the Left handed Filofax idea originally came from!

What are your thoughts?

p.s. I am not a Leftie who wants the world to change!  I have progressed through life fine with my right handed ruler, right handed scissors and of course the dreaded right handed tin opener, that I am sure would of been just as easy to open the tins with a hammer and chisel!  I have however resorted to a LEFT handed chequebook, of course now that cheques are no longer accepted! LOL!

2 responses »

  1. If you look at a Finsbury, the card slots are vertical, so you slide the cards in sideways and there fore it doesn’t matter which way up you use it.

    The note pad issue is easy to solve too. I bought an unpunched A5 pad and then punched the pages with a single hole punch that you screwed down through the pages. You could either leave it unpunched and use it upside down or punch it on the other side to normal and then use it upside down in the organiser… Or cut the note pad slot at the bottom so it accepts the notepad slot so it accepts the notepad the correct way up in an organiser that is the other way up… OK your cards etc will be at the back rather than the front, but that might be easier for you if you are left handed anyway.

    Sorry a long response but being an engineer I tend to use both hands equally… although my hand writing is just as bad which ever I use!!!

    I’ve posted a link to this article on the Philofaxy blog post:

    http://philofaxy.blogspot.com/2010/08/left-handed-use-of-filofax.html

    Regards
    Steve

  2. Hehe, I like the thought that has gone into this! Like I briefly tweeted, the cards falling out isn’t an issue with the Malden, because the slots are vertical. But if you turned the Malden upside down the zip would run the wrong way, and the back pocket would be upside down.

    I think I would like my note page on the left and my week to view on the right page though.

Leave a Reply

