Horse Riding update

Standard

Saturday morning is when I go and do my 1hr riding lesson, so off I troddled this morning, good lord it was hot! Anyway my teacher had decided that today I needed to at least try cantering! This is not something I was comfortable with as I felt I still needed to master the trot better, but I said I would give it a go even if I only did a few strides!

Yippeee!!!!!! I can now canter! I must have done it about 6 – 8 times and each time was longer and better and I loved it. My teacher said that I had the biggest grin on my face when I achieved it!

I am so chuffed. I had set myself till Sept to get to the cantering stage, so to have achieved it by now, is just wonderful!

Plus I was on a new horse today. I usually ride Kelpie who is rather slow and plods along and it takes a bit to get her going. Today I rode Lullabell who is alot more receptive and easier to get going, so that was a challenge in its self.

We also got taught assertivness and confidence on the horse today, which meant we had to progress from walking, to trotting then to cantering and stopping, therefore training the horse to listen to us, which was great. I really benefited from that.

So I am back there next Saturday for the next lesson and I can’t wait. We went to a local college today as well, who were having an open day and I went and found out a bit more about the NVQ level 1 course in horse care that I want to do, so that was good.

I have been doing some stitching today, so will post updates tomorrow. I have Race for Life tomorrow, so will let you know how I got on with that as well.

Till tomorrow…………………….

Leave a Reply

